Latest Updates on the Upcoming Cricket World Cup

The 2019 Cricket World Cup is fast approaching, with the first qualifying match scheduled for the end of the month. It has been four years Australia triumphed over their joint host, New Zealand, in the 2015 World Cup. Now, for the fifth time, it's the turn of England and Wales to host this magnificent event. Let’s take a look at the latest news from the highly anticipated cricket World Cup before it starts in a couple of weeks time.

cricket world cup trophy

Latest News

Officially known as the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, the event features ten international cricket teams that play in a round-robin format. The top four qualifying teams go through to the semi-finals to battle it out to achieve a place in the finals. During this year's World Cup, there will only be ten teams battling it out for the trophy. The ten teams taking part this year include:


The cricket World Cup schedule has been released and will commence on the 30th May, with the first match starting on that day, at The Oval cricket ground. However, because this is a home World Cup, each match will be played at one of eleven different grounds situated around England and Wales. Some of these grounds include Old Trafford, Edgbaston and the ‘home of cricket’, Lord’s, which will be the setting for the World Cup Final.  


World Cup Squads

The first release of each countries potential squad line up has been announced, with the finalisation of the line up confirmed for 22nd May.



Afghanistan's chief selector Dawlat Ahmadzai, has stated that the team's mission at this World Cup is aimed at “playing inspirational cricket”. With this in mind, here is the list of team members that are planning to feature this year:

  • Gulbadin Naib - Captain
  • Mohammad Shahzad - Wicketkeeper
  • Noor Ali Zadran
  • Hazratullah Zazai
  • Rahmat Shah
  • Asghar Afghan
  • Hashmatullah Shahidi
  • Najibullah Zadran
  • Samiullah Shinwari
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Rashid Khan
  • Dawlat Zadran
  • Aftab Alam
  • Hamid Hassan
  • Mujeeb Ur Rahman



An interesting selection for Australia’s squad this time around, with the surprise return of Steve Smith and David Warner, after serving a year ban for tampering with the cricket ball. The 15 confirmed players are:

  • Aaron Finch - captain
  • Jason Behrendorff,
  • Alex Carey - wicketkeeper
  • Nathan Coulter-Nile
  • Pat Cummins
  • Usman Khawaja
  • Nathan Lyon
  • Shaun Marsh
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Kane Richardson
  • Steve Smith
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • David Warner
  • Adam Zampa



The second highest ranked all-rounder in Test, One-day International and Twenty20 cricket, Shakib Al Hasan, has been called up for the Bangladeshi team, meaning Shakib's immediate return from the Indian Premier League. Here are the other named players in Bangladesh’s squad:

  • Mashrafe Mortaza - captain
  • Abu Jayed
  • Liton Das - wicketkeeper
  • Mahmudullah
  • Mehidy Hasan
  • Mohammad Mithun - wicketkeeper
  • Mohammad Saifuddin
  • Mosaddek Hossain
  • Mushfiqur Rahim - wicketkeeper
  • Mustafizur Rahman
  • Rubel Hossain
  • Sabbir Rahman
  • Shakib Al Hasan
  • Soumya Sarkar
  • Tamim Iqbal



There is added pressure for England this year, being the host of this huge event. To make sure their team is up to scratch this year, Alex Hales has been withdrawn from the England World Cup squad, after he was previously suspended, following an incident in September 2015. Alex Hales’ replacement is yet to be announced, however, the latest England team members released are:

  • Eoin Morgan - Captain
  • Moeen Ali
  • Jonny Bairstow - Wicketkeeper
  • Jos Buttler - Wicketkeeper
  • Tom Curran
  • Joe Denly
  • Liam Plunkett
  • Adil Rashid
  • Joe Root
  • Jason Roy
  • Ben Stokes
  • David Willey
  • Chris Woakes
  • Mark Wood



Another interesting update to India’s squad line up is the decision to have wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik on the squad instead of the young and emerging talent of Rishabh Pant. The full list of India’s squad line up is as follows:

  • Virat Kohli - Captain
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • MS Dhoni - Wicketkeeper
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Kedar Jadhav
  • Dinesh Karthik - Wicketkeeper
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Hardik Pandya
  • KL Rahul
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Vijay Shankar
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Kuldeep Yadav


New Zealand

New Zealand was the first country to name their 15-man squad, including a surprising choice in uncapped wicketkeeper Tom Blundell, who has never played a one-day international before. New Zealand’s 15-man team comprises of:

  • Kane Williamson - Captain
  • Tom Blundell - Wicketkeeper
  • Trent Boult
  • Colin de Grandhomme
  • Lockie Ferguson
  • Martin Guptill
  • Matt Henry
  • Tom Latham - Wicketkeeper
  • Colin Munro
  • Jimmy Neesham
  • Henry Nicholls
  • Mitchell Santner
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Tim Southee
  • Ross Taylor



The Pakistan squad line up showed that former 2017 Man of the Match, Mohammad Amir, was left out of Pakistan’s World Cup squad, and an impressive, young, new bowler Mohammad Hasnain has been called up instead. The Pakistani line up includes:

  • Sarfaraz Ahmed - Captain & Wicketkeeper
  • Abid Ali
  • Babar Azam
  • Faheem Ashraf
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Haris Sohail
  • Hasan Ali
  • Imad Wasim
  • Imam-ul-Haq
  • Junaid Khan
  • Mohammad Hafeez
  • Mohammad Hasnain
  • Shadab Khan
  • Shaheen Afridi
  • Shoaib Malik


South Africa

A previous key player for South Africa, Reeza Hendricks, has been denied the chance at playing in this year's cricket World Cup because of the recalling of experienced batsman Hashim Amla, making up the final numbers of South Africa’s squad list that include:

  • Faf du Plessis - Captain
  • Hashim Amla
  • Quinton de Kock - wicketkeeper
  • JP Duminy
  • Aiden Markram
  • David Miller
  • Chris Morris
  • Lungi Ngidi
  • Andile Phehlukwayo
  • Dwaine Pretorius
  • Kagiso Rabada
  • Tabraiz Shamsi
  • Dale Steyn
  • Imran Tahir
  • Rassie van der Dussen


Sri Lanka

Previously established players Danushka Gunathilaka, Upul Tharanga, Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella, and Akila Dananjaya have been left out of Sri Lanka’s World Cup, with the former limited-overs captain, Angelo Mathews, included in the 15-man squad. The full line up includes:

  • Dimuth Karunaratne - Captain
  • Avishka Fernando
  • Suranga Lakmal
  • Lasith Malinga
  • Angelo Mathews
  • Jeevan Mendis
  • Kusal Mendis - Wicketkeeper
  • Kusal Perera - Wicketkeeper
  • Thisara Perera
  • Nuwan Pradeep
  • Dhananjaya de Silva
  • Milinda Siriwardana
  • Lahiru Thirimanne
  • Isuru Udana
  • Jeffrey Vandersay


West Indies

The West Indies team has had a move about this year, naming all-rounders Andre Russell and Fabian Allen as preferred players over Devendra Bishoo and Sunil Narine. A number of other players that have been a part of the tri-series squad haven't made the World Cup squad either. The full 15 part of the West Indies’ squad are:

  • Jason Holder - captain
  • Fabian Allen
  • Carlos Brathwaite
  • Darren Bravo
  • Sheldon Cottrell
  • Shannon Gabriel
  • Chris Gayle
  • Shimron Hetmyer
  • Shai Hope - wicketkeeper
  • Evin Lewis
  • Ashley Nurse
  • Nicholas Pooran
  • Kemar Roach
  • Andre Russell
  • Oshane Thomas


Hire A Cricket Speaker

If you are looking for a cricket speaker or inspirational speaker from the world of cricket, we offer leading names from the game's past and present to host your corporate events, award ceremonies, and product launches. To book one of our cricket speakers for your event, simply contact a member of our team by filling in our online contact form or you can call directly on 0207 1010 553.